2 Outstanding IAs of Region 9 awarded as National Rice Achievers

Two (2) Irrigators Association of Zamboanga Peninsula officially received the award as 2019 National Rice Achievers in an Awarding Ceremony led by Agriculture Secretary William Dar on February 26, 2021 held at Zamboanga del Norte Cultural and Sports Center, Dipolog City.

The Evergreen Malamboon Farmers Irrigators Association, Inc headed by IA President Nestor Agada was among the five (5) winners of Rice Achievers in the National Irrigation System (NIS) category. Meanwhile, the Azusano Irrigators Association headed by IA President Felix A. Sultan was awarded as one of the five (5) national Rice Achievers under the Communal Irrigation System. Each of the outstanding IAs received One Million Pesos reward as support to their respective associations.

Apart from the award, the said Irrigators Associations received the full support of the agency as they were accompanied by NIA Region IX management headed by Regional Manager Manuel L. Rañeses to witness the momentous event.

The awarding of Rice Achievers is held annually by the Department of Agriculture to recognize the efforts of top rice producers in the country. It is also one way to motivate and show appreciation to institutions, groups, and individuals for their great significant contributions in providing Filipinos quality and affordable rice.